DontBotherOrtizMe

Legacy? What is a Legacy?…

…it’s planting seeds in a garden you never get to see…

I was at a Homegoing service today, and during the Eulogy, the Pastor kept referring to the “legacy” or the “footprints” that the recently deceased left. How you often hear people say “they’ve got big shoes to fill…” But what does that look like for you?

Times like these, I find myself reflecting on my own life, the time I’ve spent here. When it’s my turn to go, will there be talk of legacy left? Secret recipes waiting to be revealed? Big shoes to fill?

When you think about your dash – the time between your first breath and your last breath – what do you think will be said about you? Are you ok with that?

If you aren’t sure what will be said about you, who can you trust to ask?
If you aren’t quite ok with what might be said about you, what can you do about it?

Just some late night reflecting.
No need to answer publicly πŸ˜‰

Love y’all πŸ’œ


9 responses to “Legacy? What is a Legacy?…”

  1. I appreciate this meditation of what it means to live a life. I’ve never heard this time referred to as a dash and I like it; the way it captures the actual brevity in the grand scheme of things. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The older I get (in my 60s now), the more I think about this … not because I want to leave some dramatic legacy, but because I want to be sure that nothing I leave behind is harmful or hurtful, that my love is what’s remembered.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment